h1

Wow! Day 14, and still going strong!

February 24, 2010

Ok so, you probably have not heard from me in just under two weeks. Sorry about that. Motivation is hard! However I have good news:

I’m still writing my MITs, BUT I have hit a snag. I have lost motivation for actually executing them. I’m sure many of you have started something and not finished. With all good intentions only to find a few weeks down the line that you no longer seem to find that motivation to do it. This is very common. Now what do you do? here is the answer:

Find the BIGGEST REASON for doing the thing you intended and keep it visible, keep it with you, on your computer, on your wall, in your wallet, in your pocket. Given a big enough why will make you run through walls to get to where you’re going. That is why it seems, that people who have been through extreme hardship seem to just be amazing at what they do. Take Lance Armstrong for instance. That guy was diagnosed with three different types of cancer, at the same time! That certainly is a heavy blow, but what did he do? He used that as a strong reason to become possibly one of the greatest atheletes of all time.

Tony Robbins, (yes the self-help guru), grew up in poverty and was given food on America’s Thanksgiving when he was just a teenager. His whole family couldn’t feed themselves. He turned that reason to start a massive charity which helps feed people around the world, just for those days in November.

Ok so, I digress, but the point is the same. If you’re thinking about doing something life changing, and by that I mean, a daily action that will get you consistently to become the person you have dreamed of, then take a step back if you’re having trouble motivating yourself.

Think about WHY you’re doing this, get that booty moving!

I will be restarting my daily blogging as of today, and I hope that it works this time!

Ok so you may be wondering why I am doing this right now? Or not, but I’m going to tell you anyway.

I have always wanted to be a successful person in whatever field I choose (don’t we all). Ok, not that personal, but, in growing up I have been told a lot of confusing things about how to be successful. My Dad for instance once told that in order to get rich you have to be cut throat, and devious. I refuse to believe this. I also refuse to believe in realistic goals, much to my parents dismay. I’m sure you’ve had the same experience when you tell people what you want to do, and the goal you have, and then someone says “be realistic [insert name], you can’t do that, if it was that easy everybody would be doing it” or words to that effect.

Remember how frustrating that is? Getting people to believe in you, especially the ones close to you seems to be one of the biggest challenges some of us face. Now of course there are exceptions, but the truth of the matter is, that close friends and family can be one of the biggest limiters and governors of our success in life.

We are around them a lot of the time, and therefore, consistant talk of this kind can, and is devastating on what we can expect from life.

Again, I digress.

Ahh, ok, the reason is, that I want to prove to them, and myself that achieving the impossible is…possible. That we can question the assumptions of people. In fact, personally, I’ve been looking at my goals and have seen that I’m not sure I’ve been unrealistic enough. I mean, from my point of view, having changed back to University (yes, I did it, amazingly it was reversable), I think my goals can change accordingly.

So, upon review, here are 4 reviewed an revised goals for the next six months:

1) A one way ticket, for indefinite travel, around the world. Yes, one epic trip for as long as I want. More on the trip later.

2) To make it a habit of regardless where I am in world and what I am doing, to create a short intense and habitual fitness workout.(notice the difference in doing a triathlon)

3) What was the other one? I’m not sure that matters if I can’t remember it.

4) I think it was to play the ashkon farewell on violin, err, well that might be on the cards, but I think two goals are enough.

So, I think also those seem like awesome enough reasons to go make MITs a daily habit.

Stay tuned.

AC out.

Leave a Reply

