h1

The end in sight.

February 28, 2010

Thanks Franzj

Over the last few weeks, in which I have been focusing on writing down my most important tasks and executing them, I have found that small subtle things have been occuring in my life. A sense of well-being, which obviously cannot be quantified but consistently felt seems to be enveloping everything I do.

The feeling is really quite profound, I feel, well, wonderful. Now, on day 18, writing MITs will begin to become habit around the 21-28 day mark.

I have had time to think about the next habit which I would like to nail, which is of quite a personal issue to me. I would just like to say that on previous posts, I mention habits like exercise every day, and single task focus and so forth. However, having just spent an entire day inside, only focusing on productivity I think that I need to focus on something a bit more profound for the next habit.

Could it be exercise? Well actually no, as many of you will know, I am a sports enthusiast. I do enough right now to not be concerned. No, the habit I’m considering building next month is to habitually live by The Golden Rule.

If you are wondering what that is, if you type into google the respective phrase you see that it is one of the most profound laws and rules that runs through history as being the most important to anyone looking to improve their life.

Treat others as you want to be treated.

In coming back to university I have found that although I have many people who are aquaintences of mine, I find that I am lacking in genuine friends. I have realised that this is because of an attitude which I have taken toward people, which is something of a kind of aloofness. It is difficult to pin point where it comes from, but I think it seems to be my perception of other people, in as much that I have taken on the attitude that I know more than others, and that they are not worthy of my time because I have nothing to learn from them.

Subsequently I have in previous instances found that I have always been lacking in real genuine friends. Now many of you might laugh at this, but its true. I have always percieved myself as different, and thus have acted so. Now that does not mean that I don’t get to chose my friends, it is just that I have found my choice of friends, that is real friends, not superficial ones, has been limited. Why, because in trying to be individual I have alienate the very people I hoped to impress with ‘individual’ thinking. Granted I’m probably a bit different to people in terms of doing things like writing this introspective blog, but in essense what I hope to achieve is to begin to see the similarities in others, with me, rather than the differences.

I look forward very much so to the next month, and I hope to keep you updated as to the results of such an experiment.

AC out.

Leave a Reply

