h1

Radical Honesty: A month long experiment, because I failed with belief habits.

March 18, 2010

“What is uttered from the heart alone, will win the hearts of others to your own”  Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe

Starting from now, I’m going to go 30 days telling the absolute truth of what I see, no BS.

I don’t fully understand how our beliefs shape our reality. But in writing that last sentence I actually did see a glimmer of truth.

I am not unhappy with my life as a whole, I am unhappy with a few things in it.

Washing up, I cannot understand why my house mates do not clean their cutlery after they used it without leaving it a few days.

I want to be rich and successful and that is why I am mainly writing this blog, because I stay accountable, and I enjoy writing, even if it just keeps me entertained.  In fact, I want to be honest to the point of being blunt. I think it will work, because telling white lies like we all do has not got me the life I want. Which in truth I don’t actually know what the life of my dreams looks like.

Its raining outside, as I just looked out the window to see two flat mates go off to the gym. I don’t know why they spend all that money of a gym. Its a waste. If you didn’t have money, how would you keep fit? I don’t think they train at all anyway. I think I better tell them what I said when I get back.

This probably sounds like an internal narrative. Sorry about that. I feel I have exposed myself to you (the reader) in a way in which few of us do.

I have just been reading that change comes after honesty. So for one month I going to be completely honest. You can read about radical honesty in a book by a Psychiatrist called Brad Branton.  (I’m not sure the difference between psychiatrist and psychologist).

This is actually going to be quite scary this month. I’m already dreading writing essays for my course now. In fact, I think being honest is probably going to be quite a revealing month for me. If you’re looking for a very humorous article on radical honesty go here. Its written by a man who experiments, his name is A.J. Jacobs. I’m going to go back up to the top of the page now, to explain why I’m writing this, which I think is a good and humorous way to begin this post.  No, in fact I like the beginning, so I am going to say why now.

I am writing this article because I have for too long not been honest with myself. Not in a big way, but in a little way, like we all do. I want to change my life. I am not happy with a few things in my life. These being things like, why am I always in debt? I hate that. I hate not having money, to feel successful. I feel bored with life. I want excitement. I want to be chiselled. By that I mean seriously fit, so that when I look in the mirror I want go wow! And so that others will go wow to, I know that’s narcissistic, but its the truth.

Its seems like the narrative is quite blunt. That’s because the voice in my head at the moment is talking in a kind of strange monotonous blunt manner, because that’s what being honest is about, isn’t it? Its about speaking your mind.

So back to why I’m writing this. I also don’t like the way I never have a meaningful relationship (whatever that is). I nearly always have a girl who I can ring up for sex, have done for about 3 years now since I broke up with a girl who I was too much of a pussy to break up with. I want a seriously hot, fantastic girlfriend, is that too much to ask?

Also, I’m bored, I realise I mentioned that before, but its true. I want excitement. So in summary I want money to live like James bond, girl included, and I want to learn how to a better person. That was the first thing that came out of my head.

Now this does sound like a rant, at least to me, but its the truth. So from now on, I’m going to tell the truth. There is a side of me that is both very excited at this experiment, and the other which is actually bricking itself.

Its time to be honest with my life. I am going to take you though it, step by step.

Leave a Reply

